New toy: LG Viewty

I’ve been looking for a new phone since forever, and yesterday I finally went out and found what I was looking for in a phone all this while…The LG Viewty KU 990:  A 3G tri-band GSM phone with connectivity of HSDPA up to 3.6Mbps, a gorgeous 3.0 inch touchscreen LCD, and a 5.1 megapixel camera which also shoot video at a massive 120 frames a second ( the average camera shoots at 30frames/second) It has an internal memory of 100MB but allow external memory slots up to 2GB ( I have a 1GB SD card now) and a second front facing camera  for video calls.

I’ve been playing with it since I got it yesterday and so far I’m pleased as punch with this new phone. The touch screen navigation takes a while to get used to if you, like me, has always been a button user. Sensitivity can be adjusted accordingly, and you simply sweep your fingertip upwards on the screen to scroll down the menu or pages. Browsing webpages is great because of the generous screen space, and the phone also reads Word doc, Excel files and PDF which will come in handy for work.

The 5.1megapixel camera is really the star of the show, I must say it really is quite decent for a cameraphone. I have not had a camera since my 5megapixel Canon died on me last year, so I’m happy that I now have a decent camera and phone together in one nifty package, best thing is I will be carrying it around 24/7 with me ( while I always carry my cellphone around, I tend to forget to bring my camera all the time) so I will no longer miss out on any photo-ops!

The phone also has a Divx video and music player: I’ve loaded some songs in and I tried to load an episode of Grey Anatomy, but the phone apparently doesn’t read AVI files: it needs some convertion to DivX before it can be played.  Guess it wont be replacing the Ipod, but hey, you can’t have everything.

I suspect I ended up getting the Viewty because I’m so sick of waiting for the Iphone to come to Singapore! Although thinking about it now, the Viewty might actually lives up to its name as the iPhone killer; while they are similar in style and in the touchscreen navigation functions,  the Viewty wins hands down with the inclusion of the 5 megapixel camera alone. (The iPhone is a meager 2 Megapixel, and no MMS functions I heard?!)

Cheers to more connectivity and blogging on the road!

2 Responses

  1. […] Found: a UK website that sells everything french and dainty. Also photoframe on the top left corner of the header is taken during my Ikea trip today( $35) with the Viewty. […]

  2. […] (All images from the awesome Viewty.) […]

Leave a Reply

