A quickie (update)

  • I’ve (finally) made a successful transition from broadcasting into advertising.After sending out a gazillion resumes,”I-dont-know-ANYTHING-about-advertising-but-I’m-real-fast-at-learning-s0-please-hire-me” letters,enduring dubious interviewers/ locations,rude tempers and even a scathing scold from temperamental advertising directors, I’ve finally gotten my foot into a decent agency. Yay for me!
  • My new job require a corporate wardrobe,a kind of wardrobe that has been conspicuously missing from my drawer since…ever.And err,my ripped jeans and adorable abercrombie tees from my uni /MTV days doesn’t seem to cut it.I stalk watch intently for hot/stylish office-bound ladies on the train everyday now in an attempt to pick up  dressing tips.      
  • I need a good,hardy indoor plant for my cubicle that has a great cheerful personality,likes being in a airconditioned room 24/7 and  doesn’t require any sunshine.And is not a cautus.Hmm. 
10 Responses

  1. Hooray for you! I’m looking to change my job direction completely too, but I need to begin the process of sending out the billions of CVs you mentioned.

    I think if you go with the fashion picks below, you’ll do very well with the corporate dressing. Can’t wait to hear more about your job, I think it’s an area I’m interested in.

  2. Congratulations! Now you will have an even more structured life than your present one. Hah! Greetings from Germany 🙂 http://picasaweb.google.com/tongziming

  3. Now why would you want to switch from broadcasting to advertising? Just kidding. 🙂 Best of luck to the new job, and congratulations! Fabulous excuse to go shopping now!

  4. Crust: Thanks! I totally get what you’re saying..getting that initial motivation to kickstart a CV frenzy can be such a drag…most people would rather stay in a familiar,comfortable job then to venture into that nail-biting interview process again.

    But to be honest, with your eye for good designs,I reckon you would actually make a very good art director! if you are interested,you should definitely go for it.

  5. Ziming: Fantastic,You got your photoblog up as promised! I was trying to put some comments on your pictures, but your blog doesnt seem to have that function.

    I wanted to say ‘ Nice croissants,but im sure you didnt make them by yourself!” and “Good to see you’re still rocking that batik style floral blue pants in Germany!” I last saw them when we were in India. And ” Are those meatballs really better than the ikea ones?!!” and lastly, “Are you running out of soap bars already?”

  6. Jellygirl: Funny how everybody tells me that!!! I would say…life in an agency is a whole different ballgame.

    I have never seen so many people in suits shouting at each other over a conference table in my life.And then the same people…playing silly pranks and guffawing over bad jokes together 10 minutes later.

    It keeps going to work interesting everyday,thats for sure. 🙂

  7. Yup I’ve got a proper blog set up few days ago at: http://www.herrtong.blogspot.com you can put tags there if you want. btw, I made those croissants okay?? Yup and the batik style floral pants is really good they are new and cooling so i bring them everywhere. The meatballs are definitely good, though I wouldn’t dare say its better than ikea’s! As for the soap bars, I’ve given them away already I get better ones here..hee

  8. hey i was directed here from FP (the yoga thread). i used to work in mtv too until the retrenchment last year. and had a short stint in an ad agency too. and i have the ogilvy book too. hahha small world eh!

  9. oh mind if i ask which agency you at now?

  10. Hi W, what a co-incidence, i was there before the retrenchment as well! what were you working as in MTV? Maybe we know each other!

Leave a Reply

