Review: Body Balance class

So with my legs still aching from my combat class eariler, I decided to go easy on my body on Thursday and went for a calmer class,called Body Balance.I did spent some time peeking wistfully into an ongoing body combat class, which was right before my session,wishing I could join them. 😦

Here’s a definition as taken from the Les Mills webby below, and also a video here.

BODYBALANCE™ is the Yoga, Tai Chi, Pilates workout that builds flexibility and strength and leaves you feeling centered and calm. Controlled breathing, concentration and a carefully structured series of stretches, moves and poses to music create a holistic workout that brings the body into a state of harmony and balance.

It’s basically a watered down version of basic yoga movements and meditation  and I would say it’s a good introduction to yoga or pilates. Although it was my first class,I managed to follow the class quite well until the 3 legged downward dog position.

 

I was struggling to balance myself while trying to keep my foot in the air.My hands were wobbly.It was HARD. I also found myself actually getting bored midway through class, which I’m quite surprised at,because I always fancied myself as quite the potential yogalite.  I’m guessng it might be because I was not allowing myself to concentrate and  get into the momentum of the class properly. Also, because it ISwatered down yoga style class, the instructor did not focus as much on correct postures and spine alignment,which is actually quite important to doing yoga properly.   

I enjoyed the class but it felt weird to get out of class without doing any actual sweating! Haha…felt a little unproductive! But the good thing was that amazingly,the muscle aches are gone after the class.Yay! I’m starting to realise how important it is to stretch well before and after exercise, and nothing stretches your body better than Yoga.

I think I might progress to going for a proper Hatha yoga session after this.

One Response

  1. Humm…that video is too cheesy, couldn’t watch it to the end 😛
    I think Yoga is more energetic right? I would probably go for that if I get the chance.

Leave a Reply

